Kilroy's College

Kilroy's College

Online & Home Study Courses


Kilroy's College - the Irish Correspondence College has agreed its quality assurance policies and procedures with QQI and is a registered provider (reg. number 38547L) to offer validated programmes leading to QQI awards within the National Framework of Qualifications in Ireland.

Programmes offered by Kilroy's College and accredited by QQI meet the full rigours of the QQI Quality Assurance Requirements.

QQI (Quality and Qualifications Ireland - is a state agency responsible for maintaining the ten-level NFQ (National Framework of Qualifications) in Ireland.

QQI awards fit into the overall National Framework of Qualifications for Ireland. There are 10 levels on the national framework - level 1 being the lowest and level 10 being the highest.

Award Equivalents

National Framework of Qualifications QQI Award Other Awards
Level 1 Level 1 Certificate  
Level 2 Level 2 Certificate Primary Certificate
Level 3 Level 3 Certificate Junior Certificate, Intermediate Certificate, Group Certificate, National Foundation Certificate (NCVA)
Level 4 Level 4 Certificate Leaving Certificate, Leaving Certificate Applied, National Vocational Certificate 1 (NCVA)
Level 5 Level 5 Certificate Leaving certificate, Post-leaving Certificate (PLC), National Vocational Certificate Level 2 (NCVA)
Level 6 Level 6 Advanced Certificate Higher certificate (HETAC/NCEA), National Vocational Certificate Level 3 (NCVA)
Level 7 - 10 None Higher Education awards only

Within the various levels QQI offers major awards and minor awards. QQI major awards are made up of a number of specified minor awards commonly known as modules or component certificates. Each module can be taken separately, or as part of an overall programme, incorporating all the required modules for a major award.

Students receive a component certificate for each module they successfully complete. When a student has successfully completed all of the required component certificates for a major award they automatically become eligible for the overall QQI Certificate.

You need to be careful and know what award you are getting from a programme. Is it a component certificate or is it a major award?

However you can be sure that if you enrol on a programme which has QQI accreditation the organisation delivering the programme has been through a rigorous quality assurance check and that your progress and grades will be internally and externally verified.

In addition you can be sure that the programme is monitored independently by QQI to ensure they achieve the highest standard.

It is important to plan carefully what modules and what award you want to complete in order to maximise your investment and your time in getting your desired qualification. Visit for more guidance on this or contact the course administration team at Kilroy's College for further information.